How not to be a music snob?

Favorite new record? Favorite old record? Got a band? Post it here.
Ceylon
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

How not to be a music snob?

Post by Ceylon » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:03 am

I didn't want to hijack DeathJag's thread on here, but I read it and started thinking. I'd label myself a music snob too. It's not that I don't listen to a lot of different stuff, but I'm fairly particular with what that is, and while I can tolerate the taste in music many of my friends have, I choose not to discuss music with them knowing full well that it'll come to nothing. I don't really keep up with mainstream music at all, with the exception of last year when I worked as a morning radio DJ and kind of was forced to, and I notice that spiralling to the point where I actually start avoiding mainstream music, or convince myself I dislike it, or look for reasons to dislike it, et cetera...

Not that I don't occasionally find a mainstream song that I actually unironically like. And when it comes right down to it, I'm happy in the end of the day having a taste in music that I can share with maybe 4 people in my life. I don't mind having it to myself even. What I do worry about is ossifying and becoming this sort of contrarian person that actively does not get into things because they're not the kind of thing I'm into. I do think almost all music has some little redeeming factor and the most musical people I know never seem to dismiss anything at face value, but rather to have the ability to look deeper and find something there.