Big muff power supply

Everyone needs a stompbox.
SonicC
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Big muff power supply

Post by SonicC » Sat Dec 14, 2019 7:00 am

I’m thinking of replacing my fuzz face because it can’t go after any pedals, so if I’m using any other distortion after the fuzz then it actually gets quieter after I turn it on. I’m thinking of getting a big muff so I can boost it with other pedals and get more reliability. Can I use a boss PSA adapter (Center negative) with a daisy chain, then put one of these where the big muff is going? https://www.gear4music.com/Guitar-and-B ... 6TEALw_wcB

somanytoys
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Big muff power supply

Post by somanytoys » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:22 am

If that's the adapter that the Muff you get needs, that adapter should work with the daisy chain. I used to use an adapter like that with the older EHX models take that type of power supply, but I have no experience with the newer ones, although I'd think that EHX would have come around to using the much more common center negative by now. It seems like I remember one of the newer nano muffs someone had using center negative. I guess a lot may depend on which Muff you buy (?).

Also, for the daisy chain, keep in mind how many mA's are needed for all of the pedals in your daisy chain. A Boss PSA doesn't produce much (I can't remember, but maybe like 200 - 300 mA?) - many pedals don't need much, especially dirt pedals, but others (like delay) need a lot. You need enough for the sum total of all of the pedals you have chained. FWIW, a One Spot adapter produces much more, maybe like 1700 mA or so, if I remember correctly. Just a suggestion if you run into any problems with certain pedals not working correctly or cutting out. Eventually you should consider getting a power supply with isolated feeds (Voodoo, DB11, Ciocks, etc.)
-David

It's a boost booster, to boost your boost - it makes your tone much muchier.

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923