Modding a Hoof Reaper?

Everyone needs a stompbox.
Post Reply
User avatar
funkyeah!
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 790
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Virginia

Modding a Hoof Reaper?

Post by funkyeah! » Tue May 14, 2019 5:35 am

I absolutely love my dual fuzz+Octavia pedal but I wish I could have the muff after all my distortions. The caveat is the Tone Reaper needs to go early in the chain for a full sound and the octave sounds better before other overdrives.

There is room to add another input and output jack on the top corners of the pedal. Looking at the Pcb though, I’m not sure how feasible it would be to tap the signal in the middle of its path. Does anyone have a schematic or know where I could route the signal away to do tone Reaper and octave on I/O number 1, hoof on I/O number 2?
Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb.

User avatar
MechaBulletBill
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2088
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 8:16 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Modding a Hoof Reaper?

Post by MechaBulletBill » Tue May 14, 2019 5:47 am

If it's two standard 3pdt footswitches, you could drill and fit the two extra jacks and then wire the switches up as two separate effect/bypass units in one box. Other than space, the only potential issue i can see would be around the 9v supply to each circuit but i dunno enough about how eqd go about that to comment!

User avatar
funkyeah!
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 790
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Modding a Hoof Reaper?

Post by funkyeah! » Tue May 14, 2019 6:01 am

Ah interesting. Thank you!
Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb.

User avatar
jorri
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1879
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 1:53 am
Location: bath, UK
Contact:

Re: Modding a Hoof Reaper?

Post by jorri » Mon May 20, 2019 7:55 am

MechaBulletBill wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 5:47 am
If it's two standard 3pdt footswitches, you could drill and fit the two extra jacks and then wire the switches up as two separate effect/bypass units in one box. Other than space, the only potential issue i can see would be around the 9v supply to each circuit but i dunno enough about how eqd go about that to comment!
yup.i would think use the input and output from the respective footswitches. may need new switches if you cant desolder well, since too much heat can really shorten the life of them.

User avatar
secretroutines
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Modding a Hoof Reaper?

Post by secretroutines » Thu Jun 13, 2019 5:04 pm

You really don't need to worry too much about the placement with the Hoof Reaper. Since EQD does silicon and germanium transistors, the reaper side will be less temperamental, but muffs respond really well to dirt after them as well. It's honestly pretty hard to make the Hoof Reaper sound bad (it's been on my board for about 4 years now).

Post Reply