Formula B effects (Italy) "Mini Bender" mk1

Everyone needs a stompbox.
øøøøøøø
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Formula B effects (Italy) "Mini Bender" mk1

Post by øøøøøøø » Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:14 pm

seems to be very limited production, which I did not realize when I placed my order (which was motivated, truthfully, as much by the unit's small footprint as anything else). But my unit is numbered 24 of 50, so obviously not many of these will be made.

Man. It sounds amazing. I'm not a Tone Bender connoisseur, but I think I might become one. This thing is addictive! I know plenty of people make germanium tonebender copies but this one is just crushing me at the moment.

Just such liquid sustain with these harmonics that pop out all over the place... SO expressive and interesting and cool. But I'm new to the mk1 tonebender world in general... Maybe they're all like this? How did I miss this my whole life?

Pedal construction is charmingly small-shop. I can still smell the rattle can enamel, carefully applied (looks good!) lettering is done with some sort of transfer letters. Very homespun, but I like it. Circuit constructed on a small turret board. Came with a proper carbon-zinc battery (those sound the best in these, and it really does matter in a fuzz face or tone bender!) but it also sounds great with a standard 9v supply.

So psyched! But since there are likely to only be 50 of these in the world ever, maybe I shouldn't tour it? Or buy a second to keep at home? I always do this to myself, fall in love with the stuff that was intended to be merely "utilitarian."
Last edited by øøøøøøø on Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MechaBulletBill
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Formula B effects (Italy) "Mini Bender" mk1

Post by MechaBulletBill » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:34 pm