running two power supplies

Everyone needs a stompbox.
dilboskwisgaar
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

running two power supplies

Post by dilboskwisgaar » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:27 pm

This might be a dumb question, but I'm new to using a power brick after upgrading from daisychaining one-spots. I have a Walrus Aetos, and I need to add a second to power all my pedals (14-15). Is it safe/efficient to run a second power supply (one-spot or second Aetos) out of the "120VAC Out" outlet on the first Aetos, or should I run from a second outlet on my power strip?

Thank you!

fuzzjunkie
Expat
Expat

Re: running two power supplies

Post by fuzzjunkie » Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:46 am

I don't know the answer to that one but other supplies like the Cioks that I use are designed for exactly that. It would seem that if it is included as an option then it has an intended use. I've not done it myself and don't know if yours will work as planned.

Shadoweclipse13
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Shadoweclipse13 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:52 am

I would honestly assume that is what that outlet is for (if not maybe just a single pedal that can only use it's own 120VAC cable). I would write Walrus and ask them to be sure before you possibly damage anything, but here's the product page. Maybe the manual has more information?

If it doesn't work, you could always sell it and get the Phoenix power supply they make:
https://www.walrusaudio.com/collections ... 20v-230v-1
Pickup Switching Mad Scientist
http://www.offsetguitars.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=104282&p=1438384#p1438384

brucer
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by brucer » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:02 pm

I would think that's what it's for. Though - as mentioned - you could always ask Walrus.