Orange problem

Make it loud here.
spook
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Orange problem

Post by spook » Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:57 am

I have an orange micro-terror head that when switched on, the LED flashes every few seconds and when it's connected to the speaker it makes a percussive sound in time with the light flashing (there's no other output). Has anyone else ever encountered anything like this? I'm an electronic engineering student (not a very good one, apparently :D :D :D) so I could probably repair the issue if I knew what was causing it!

veryredtomatoes
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Orange problem

Post by veryredtomatoes » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:08 am

It's in the process of going to the Dark side. Soon it will shed that pale skin in favor of the darkness that lies beneath.
Today is a good day to die.

Squirrel
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Squirrel » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:53 pm

Can you see if the valve heater stays constantly lit when turned on?

cbrown
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by cbrown » Fri Jan 01, 2016 2:05 am

Have you been using it with a 4 ohm load and high gain/volume settings? Apparently this can overload the output stage and cause it to cut out, maybe the output stage has died.

Is it possible for you to try the amp with a different power supply? That may be the culprit.

The sound you can hear could be a relay engaging. If so, it's possible that either the relay itself is faulty and not switching properly or the thing it's meant to activate is failing to activate. The amp could also be failing to supply the high voltage to the tube. Either way, it's not really serviceable without the circuit diagrams.

OffYourFace
Mods
Mods

Post by OffYourFace » Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:54 pm

Good luck. I hope it's something simple.