4x12 cab ok for bass?

Make it loud here.
daydreamdelay
Mods
Mods

4x12 cab ok for bass?

Post by daydreamdelay » Sat Feb 24, 2007 9:38 pm

I'm thinking about taking up bass again and have this Traynor head that should work fine.. rather than buying another cab for bass (though there's a nice old Bassman 2x15 I could get if needed) I'd like to utilize one of these empty cabs I have. The one I'm leaning toward is this old Peavey cab that's divided horizontally, it's about as deep as a bass cab so I think it could work out pretty well. I've never used 12" speakers before for bass though so I'm wondering if they'll be ok and if there's a specific type I should go after that would sound good for both bass and guitar?

mezcalhead
Admin
Admin

Re: 4x12 cab ok for bass?

Post by mezcalhead » Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:56 pm

Most of my bass-playing career was spent using a single 4x10" cab, with Eminence speakers IIRC.

Lots of clarity but also lots of bass from that, more than enough for the 3-piece bands I usually played in, so I bet 4x12" would be absolutely fine with the right speakers (although I have no recommendations there, sorry!).

If I was going to do it again I'd have a separate 1x15" to supplement the 4x10" on larger dates.
Last edited by mezcalhead on Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Distance-crunching honcho with echo unit.

mynameisjonas
Admin
Admin

Post by mynameisjonas » Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:16 am

i played bass through my marshall 4x12 (celestion G12 75W) cab for years, and i´ve always been very pleased with my sound. i´ve never really liked the sound of "true" bass speakers though, so maybe my opinion isn´t very helpful.

chrisjedijane
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by chrisjedijane » Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:36 am

I used to use a 100W laney head with a laney 4x12 for gigging back when I played bass in a band - basically because it was the loudest amp in the house and therefore the least likely to blow up when playing bass through it.