Quilter amps for loud, clean music?

Make it loud here.
telegraph1101
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Quilter amps for loud, clean music?

Post by telegraph1101 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:25 pm

I've been playing through a Fender Blues Junior for about 5 years now. I've never actually loved it, and now I think it's time to upgrade. My friends and I have been jamming together recently, and are getting more serious about gigging soon. We play a lot of songs by Rush and bands like Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin etc. We also do a lot of loud, clean music (like the ending solo of Yes's Siberian Khatru), which calls for a loud, clean amp.

Portability is a real issue for me, so while I have been seriously thinking about the Twin Reverb (which has always been my dream amp and will basically never run out of headroom), I've also been considering the Quilter amps, specifically the Micropro Mach 2. But while the Quilter amps seem to be the perfect combination of powerful + portable, I'm worried that it's too good to be true; the portability will actually translate into a small/boxy sound and it won't live up to the hype. In any case, my next amp would be a pedal platform; all I want is a good, loud, clean tone.

I really want to like the Quilter. They're not as popular as the JC 120s or Roland Cubes, so I can't find too much information about them online. Does anyone here have any experiences with them? Is the portability worth any tradeoff in tone (if there even is a tradeoff)? Considering other people can deal with it, then I guess I too could tolerate the Twin Reverb's bulk and weight, in exchange for better tone.

Igorilla
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Quilter amps for loud, clean music?

Post by Igorilla » Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:23 am